You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Hello Affiniciados:

A total newbie with Affinity Photo, Windows version 1.6.2.97, with many questions.

I notice in Andy's list of supported RAW cameras 1.6.x the Nikon D7500 is not listed. Does that mean that if I have questions related to that camera, I am out of luck? Or is it soon to be added to the list?

Questionably,

Peter

Hello MEB:

Thank you for your quick reply. That is reassuring (I guess).  :/

Now another, probably dumb, question: what does "supported" mean? I have a question about some photos taken by the D7500. If this camera is not yet "supported"  would it be difficult, or even impossible,  for someone to answer it?   I will offer the question anyway, to see what happens.

I took a series of photos with the D7500, then loaded them into two different programs to look at the histograms. One program was Affinity and the other is a "View photos"-type program from Nikon (View-Xn-i). I am attaching snapshots of the histogram from each program. They are quite different, and I am wondering why. Which histogram would be the more accurate one?

I do not have Lightroom (heresy!) or any other program with which I could  compare the histograms, so I am not sure what to make of the different results.

Peter

Histo-ViewXni_001.png.f8228b372264950d021c45b98b1b9764.png

Histo-Affinityi_001.png

...what does "supported" mean?

Support means here, until the underlayed used third party libraries which are used by APh to develop the RAW data of cameras and and also the lens corrections data libraries are updated accordingly and incorporated into the next Affinity Photo update version. Note that the Affinity software relies here on third party libraries and which aren't maintain by Affinity themselves in terms of adding new cameras model RAW data etc.