You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Pen tool not showing stroked line?

Hey 

So I'm new to this program. Wanted to try a small project. I have a quick png that I created in sai that I wanted to create a vector outline of. 

Behold the egg of glory. Now I've got my original on its own pixel layer. All the crap is cut out from behind. My layer above is a transparency. Opacity set to 100. I stroke with the pen tool, and?....

I'm left with the awesome skeleton, but no digital ink on the digital canvas. What am I missing?

help.png

Hard to tell from that screenshot, since a stroke of 0.9 pt in that setup color might be covered by the layer selection magenta color here and thus not visable. Does the tracing layer have full opacity and normal blend mode applied?

☛ Affinity Designer 1.10.8 ◆ Affinity Photo 1.10.8 ◆ Affinity Publisher 1.10.8 ◆ OSX El Capitan
☛ Affinity V2.3 apps ◆ MacOS Sonoma 14.2 ◆ iPad OS 17.2

12 minutes ago, v_kyr said:

Does the tracing layer have full opacity and normal blend mode applied?

The settings in the Layers panel indicate that it does. detective.gif

Alfred spacer.png
Affinity Designer/Photo/Publisher 2 for Windows • Windows 10 Home/Pro
Affinity Designer/Photo/Publisher 2 for iPad • iPadOS 17.4.1 (iPad 7th gen)

4 minutes ago, Alfred said:

The settings in the Layers panel indicate that it does. detective.gif

Really? - Then tell me my tracing layer settingguess_tracing.jpg.7acf842f7e0e95a5becc5d10c4e8d0b9.jpg here, what are they?

☛ Affinity Designer 1.10.8 ◆ Affinity Photo 1.10.8 ◆ Affinity Publisher 1.10.8 ◆ OSX El Capitan
☛ Affinity V2.3 apps ◆ MacOS Sonoma 14.2 ◆ iPad OS 17.2

OK, my mistake! I should have noticed that it only tells you the settings for the selected curve, not the containing layer. :o

Alfred spacer.png

• 2 weeks later...