You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Changing Colors of bed-sheets in photo?

Hi 

I am new to photo-editing and I've spent a few days watching various tutorials and have played around in Affinity Photo. I am struggling though so I thought I would ask if anyone can point me in the right direction. 

I understand how to select diffrent things in pictures and I am familiarizing myself with layers and adjustments. I have played around with all of that stuff. So I feel like I have some small basics now. 

Here is what I am working on, I sell bedsheets. I have taken a few photos of some sheets on a bed which apparenlty is an intresting photo to photographic. However, I have about 20 diffrent colors. How do I properly change the color to make it very smiliar match the color ? Is this possible or do I need to photographic each diffrent set ? 

I've tried to select the bedsheets and I can change their colors but I can't figure out how to do matches. Say change a white set of sheets to a brown/chocolate or a red. Have it look similar ? 

However I'd like to learn any suggestions ?  I know its probably possible given I look on websites and see they have photos of sheets/ curtains that sort of thing and they are the same picture with different coloring. 

Thank you very much for any advice. 

Well there are generally several different ways of doing this, though it also always depends on an image subject lighting and shadow falls here, since specific color nuances don't always have to be equally the same for a motive. - You might want to start with looking at some intro videos here, in order to get an overall idea ...

☛ Affinity Designer 1.10.8 ◆ Affinity Photo 1.10.8 ◆ Affinity Publisher 1.10.8 ◆ OSX El Capitan
☛ Affinity V2.3 apps ◆ MacOS Sonoma 14.2 ◆ iPad OS 17.2

Yeah I guess the difficulty is that nothing shows up. I guess white is hard to turn into colors or something ?