You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Default Save As to Any Format

Hi,

When you choose to "Save As" for a new document, Affinity Photo defaults to ".afphoto", its native file format. If I wish to "Save As" to a different format, I have to "Export" instead. There may be numerous reasons why this is the default way Affinity Photo works, but it is really annoying. Why can't we choose which method to "Save As" when we, select "Save As", without having to resort to exporting instead? Users complained about this in Gimp for many years.

As an artist I save the largest majority of my images, like many do I expect as .jpg, or .png. perhaps even .PSD to be compatible with other people. Occasionally I will use .aphoto, but I have to consider future archival options too. Other software doesn't open .afphoto files either, at least, not yet.

Instinctively you head over to "Save As", intending to save your work, then think, "Damn!" and then have to cancel, then select the "Export" option from the menu instead.

You might say that I'll get used to it eventually, but I've been using Affinity Photo since it came out and I still fall into the trap.

I know that Affinity Photo's native file format is best for Affinity Photo, so it includes all your Adjustments etc, but can't we have the choice? Just a drop down menu like other software like Photoshop where Affinity chooses by default it's propitiatory format, but allows you to select an alternative if necessary?

The "Export" option is so unnecessary, not just for me, but everyone I've talked to who uses Affinity Photo.

Can we have the option please? Even if it's a option to tick in the Preferences?

Thanks, Jay.

3 hours ago, JayH said:

intending to save your work

But saving "your work" is possible only in native Affinity format, where store all layers, filters, adjusts, etc.

Other formats only export the result of your work, that can not be continued anymore. Therefore "Export".