You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Organizing brushes in Affinity Photo?

Hello!

I'm just making my first steps in Affinity Photo. I'm an illustrator and I usually create my digital paintings in PS using a lot of different digital brushes. In PS there was a nifty plugin that did a great job (BrushBox).

I love that you can use and even import some brushes in Affinity Photo, but I can't locate any of them just going by the visual list. Is there a way to have the names of the brushes displayed next to the brush tips? Or a way to mark your favorites? Currently, I'm trying out new brushes (from a list of over 100...) and each time I want to go back to one I liked, I've already forgotten which one it was. Affinity Photo seems like a great software, but I'd love some way to organize the brush tips better!

Thanks!

Julia

i think the best way would be to create more brush categories (panel menu) and organize your brushes. 

5a5758eaf011c_panelmenu.png.93dc2b06ab4db9438ea16fad127fc765.png

Panel menu

category.png.35cbb113e24db9259bc7ec495f4ea207.png

Make an "I like it" type category and a "favourite" category, or two, and as soon as you find a brush you like, rename it and move it.

Name the brush by right clicking on it (Rename) and then, the names will pop-up as you hover over the brushes.

If you have trouble remembering which brush you just tried, hover first to get its name and take notes ;)

Windows PCs. Photo and Designer, latest non-beta versions.

Hi toltec,

thanks for the suggestion! A favorite category will help a bit. But without having names displayed, I still feel lost and it makes for a less smooth drawing experience.