shojtsy

Cropping does not reduce file size

I have create a new document in AF 1.6.1.93 by loading a 71 megabyte RGB/16 tiff file.

Saving this to an afphoto file created a 71,5 megabyte afphoto file. It has a single layer.

Then I heavily cropped the image to a small fraction of the original size.

I made sure to right-click on the pixel layer and choose Rasterize to remove any leftover pixel area from the crop. Document -> Unclip canvas does not change my image.

I saved the afphoto file again. I don't have history saving enabled.

My expectation is the file size going way down to below 1 MB. But it is still 71,8 MB, even bigger than what I have started with.

The remaining huge file size must be a bug.

The file size stays the same because affinity photo does not get rid of the image area surrounding the crop.  This allows you to change the crop even after you have saved your changes (note: i'm not an expert so I might be wrong).

11 minutes ago, Gavin W. said:

The file size stays the same because affinity photo does not get rid of the image area surrounding the crop.  This allows you to change the crop even after you have saved your changes (note: i'm not an expert so I might be wrong).

Rasterize supposed to solve this. And I am no longer able to extend my crop after it.

Hi Mark

Does Save As to the same file name trim the old data or does it have to use a new file name?

Due to the fact that Boris Johnson is now our Prime Minister, punctuation, spelling and grammar will never be worried about ever again.  We now have far bigger problems to be worried about.

8 hours ago, Mark Ingram said:

Try using Save As. In order to speed up save time, we don't always trim old data out of the file (we do it based on some internal metrics). Performing a Save As would force it to trim the old data.