You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Arctic China

Konspaul

I'm asking for critique:

This work is a cover for a research plan document. The painting should represend arctic, China and also illustrate how the art is going to be present in the research.

Translating the headline:

Great nation

Great change

How environment is used and build in the world after the rise of China

Pohjoinen Spektri kansi lohikäärmeellä ja tulella.png

An interesting art style. The mix of photo and illustration works well. (I'm assuming that the iceberg and sea are from a photo and haven't been drawn in Affinity. If they have then they're absolutely fantastic work.)

I have a few comments from a personal view but I'm not an artist so feel free to ignore them:

If some of the red text could be "bent" round some of the ice it would add a really nice touch. It would look more like the man has been painting it on rather than it just being overlaid.

The dragon is great but I get the feeling that it's too much "in the background". I think it would look better if the background was darker and the dragon was larger, maybe with part of it behind the iceberg so that it looked more a part of the overall composition rather than a separate item.

Have you tried making the dragon a bit more, I'm going to say "neon" for want of a better word? If the dragon looked like it was using energy and giving off light it might work better with the environmental theme. A bit like this: http://www.gettyimages.co.uk/detail/photo/bright-neon-signs-colourful-crowded-cityscape-royalty-free-image/470027170

It's just that the dragon seems to be a bit "lost" in the background and might benefit from being more prominent. It's great artwork so why hide it away at the back?