You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Really loving Affinity Designer at the moment and it's pretty perfect without all the bloat of a certain other package, very tempted to throw my money down for it now. One thing that's bugging me at the moment is the pixel snapping isn't working as expected and I'm getting values of "320.3 px" rather than a whole integer ("320 px").

I've attached my snapping settings as an image to show how I got it all setup so maybe I'm doing something wrong or I'm mis-understanding it? But as a web developer, I work in integer values, so a point-something of a pixel doesn't work for me and is a bit of pain when dealing with tight layouts.

Aside from that Affinity is perfect and such a nice, clean and easy to use tool!

post-254-0-81954100-1406724903_thumb.png

• Staff

Hi,

Snapping is still very much a work in progress.  It's a fine balance getting all the snapping combinations to work together in a common yet complimentary way.

Snap to pixel is currently done as snapping to an arbitrary grid.  You'll see that you can chose any unit size - this effectively sets the grid size.  Pixel snapping is also a special case in that you can snap to pixel mid-points.  This is to allow for objects with 1-pixel lines to appear on-pixel rather than half way across two pixels when rasterised.

When you move a selected object, its bounding box is used as the thing that gets snapped.  If you snap to another object, you will see that you can snap the outer edges and the midline of the bounding box.  When it comes to pixel snapping, what is probably happening is that you are snapping the midline or the right/bottom edge of your objects bounding box to a pixel line or mid-pixel line.  Look carefully at the centre of your object - it may well have snapped to a pixel.