You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Testing out the HDR feature

Hi. I'm new to Affinity Photo and has been testing it out for a few days now.
One of the areas that interest me is the HDR merge, as it allows me to do picture with a colour quality and contrast range I haven't been able to before. I've been testing it as I usually do, that is to give it a nearly impossible task and see where it breaks. And sure enough, it has its limitations.

Yesterday I went with my wife to the beach, and with semi-cloudy weather and a low evening sun reflecting in the water I saw it as a perfect opportunity to test HDR. With my wife whittling about with her own creative ideas, I tried to capture her and the surrounding sea as best as I can. Or the low flying swallows against he sun. The problem being of course that a Sony a6000 rattling away the best it could, couldn't possibly capture everything that moved about without causing Affinity Photo to get royally confused.

In this environment, ghosting becomes a serious issue. Even when you let Affinity do aligning and ghost removal, and even when you turn on the "remove shadows" function. You need to turn on the clone brush tool, as advised in your fine tutorials, and go at it.
The problem is you need to choose the right picture as your base and when all the movement in the picture makes Affinity Photo (hereby called AP) confused about what moves and what is still, the pictures aren't in sync. That's what makes the ghosting issue first hand, and that's what making it difficult to paint properly. Half the time you can't paint with one picture close to another, because the sync problem goes the wrong way and every time you get close to the edge, you get the edge before you really need it. (And the other side of the edge is too dark (or bright) to be painted with that picture.)