You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Quick and easy clean up of a white studio background. Any ideas?

Normally, I use Lightroom and Photoshop for editing, but having seen the write up in Professional Photo this month about Affinity Photo, I thought I'd give it a try to see if I can save money on the Adobe CC subscription. I'm currently on a trial version of Affinity Photo, so assume that although a professional photographer, I am a new novice user of the product!  ;)

One of the most common things for me to do other than colour correction, contrast, saturation, etc. is to clean up white backgrounds. In the studio, I am often using a white infinity cove for portraits of babies, products, families, etc. We all know that white is a real pain for showing up marks, gaining the inevitable scuffs and marks during a shoot that, although not that noticeable to the naked eye, the camera exaggerates. I am looking for a similar quick and easy way to clean those up in Affinity, as I use in Photoshop. The way I do this in PS, is very simple. I create a duplicate layer, select Filter, Noise, Median, with around a 20px radius, select a Hide All Layer and erase the marks on the top layer, which suitably blurs the marks and gives me a pretty clean photo quickly. I've tried a similar process with Affinity, but the results are nowhere near as good as in PS. Maybe I am making a stupid rookie mistake in the way I am doing it, but it is nowhere near as clean and crisp as in PS. Any ideas?