You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Remove Colour Stains from an image using Selective Colour and Levels adjustment

Hello Folks

I'm still on Affinity Photo trial, so I hope I can get a prompt answer to this.

I'm no expert on Photoshop, but when re-touching/restoring old documents or old photos there is a technique that uses Levels and Colour Range to remove stains and blotches that affect only part of the image.

I have a photo that has a yellow stain on part of it - but it is NOT a cast that covers the entire image (I know how to deal with that - it's much more straightforward). The same issue occurs with brown stains/blotches on old documents.

In Photoshop, you'd add a Levels adjustment layer.  In the dialog box or panel, that adjustment layer automatically has a Mask Layer (doesn't seem to in AP)

When you select the Mask Layer in the Levels panel in PS, you have the option to Refine>Colour Range   This means that you can select which colour range to apply Levels to by using a Mask Layer.

You sample the colour of the stain using the dropper, then use the 'fuzziness' slider to adjust the range of colour in the sample and feathering to subtly integrate the adjustment.  Once selected you can then adjust the levels of that colour range to reduce the impact on the image. 

How can i achieve the same in Affinity Photo please?

Many thanks for your help and support.  

Gareth

All adjustment layers in Affinity Photo have a mask. You can 'paint' on them with black, white, or grey to hide or show where the adjustment is visible, & by how much.

All 3 1.10.8, & all 3 V2.4.1 Mac apps; 2020 iMac 27"; 3.8GHz i7, Radeon Pro 5700, 32GB RAM; macOS 10.15.7
Affinity Photo 
1.10.8; Affinity Designer 1.108; & all 3 V2 apps for iPad; 6th Generation iPad 32 GB; Apple Pencil; iPadOS 15.7