You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Problem with subtract operation

Hi all,

I'm completely new to this! So far the program's been pretty great, but it's been a learning curve for sure. I'm working on a logo and have ran into an issue I can't wrap my heard around. 

I'm using the subtract operation to cut out some shapes. I'm doing a bicycle tire/rim against a black background. Everything has been going smoothly, until I tried to use the subtract operation on the "spokes" (single lines going from the center to the outside of the tire.)

When I go to subtract, the line disappears and the layer they were on deletes itself. Also, any objects in that layer delete themselves with the individual spoke selected (the other objects being the other spokes). 

Any insight on this would be great  :( I was doing so well until I hit this wall and I have no idea what to do to fix it, about a million searches online gave me zilch, most likely due to me not knowing the correct terminology to search for. 

Thanks in advance everyone!

• Staff

Hello Quarter,

Welcome to Affinity Forums.

What's probably happening is that you are trying to perform a boolean operation (subtraction) between a shape and a line. Currently Affinity doesn't support boolean operations between shapes and lines. The objects disappearing from canvas is what usually happens in those situations.

To workaround this, you can select the line and go to Layer-> Expand Stroke to turn the line into a shape. Then, you can subtract it from another shape. Let me know if you still find trouble.

MEB, 

THANK YOU! A thousand times. That fixed my problems!!! Could I ask you to sorta explain what "Expand stroke" actually does, in regards to this I understand it turns it into a shape; in other situations does it does the exact same thing (i.e. it's only used for lines?) Thanks :) and thanks for the welcome, I'm glad to be here!