You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Image width and height when exporting SVG

Hi,

I'm fairly new to AD, so there might an easy answer to my question that I have missed, but I am having some issues with my svg images exporting in the size I have them in the AD project.

In other apps I've had no trouble with this so I compared the output between them to find that the width and height is set to 100% for the AD svg images, whereas a similar image in Inkscape for example, has the width and height set to a given size in mm. In Sketch the height/width settings are similarly set to the image size in pixels.

Here are the size settings for my AD svg image:

AD-Width%20and%20Height.jpg

Here are the size settings for my Inkscape and Sketch exports of a similar circle svg image:

Inkscape-Width%20and%20Height.jpg

Sketch-Width%20and%20Height.jpg

By changing the width and height settings for the Affinity Designer image directly, I was able to get the image to show up in the correct size in my browser, but I'm hoping to find a place to perform that change upon export from Affinity Designer. (Since AD is my preferred program for creating svg.  :)  )

Also, is there any advantage to the 100% width and height settings that I am not aware of?

I've attached the corresponding svg image files in case they are of interest.

Circle_Size_Tests.zip

Hi,

in the image shown above for AD, since the SVG viewbox already defines the size (0 0 50 50) in it's default as pixels, the 100% is just another way here to express the overall SVG width/height in percentages instead of pixels or mm. - See also ...

... and for the viewBox Attribute ...

☛ Affinity Designer 1.10.8 ◆ Affinity Photo 1.10.8 ◆ Affinity Publisher 1.10.8 ◆ OSX El Capitan
☛ Affinity V2.3 apps ◆ MacOS Sonoma 14.2 ◆ iPad OS 17.2

Thanks for the quick response. :)

Try going to File > Export > SVG > More and unchecking the option to set the viewBox.

Thanks!