Jump to content
- S -

[Fixed] Affinity Photo - TIFF Not Saving Spare Channels When Re-Saving Document

Recommended Posts

Ordinarily, when a TIFF has been saved with 'Save Affinity Layers', if you re-open the file to continue working on it, then re-save it, Affinity Photo recognises that there are multiple layers and therefore the layers and spare channels are all kept intact.

If however there is only one layer, Affinity Photo doesn't recognise that there are Spare Channels present when re-saving a TIFF file and this results in the spare channels being deleted from the file when saving it.

To replicate the issue, carry out the following steps:

1) Open the attached ZIP file (it contains a TIFF with an alpha channel and a spare channel)
2) Draw on the bottom layer with a brush
3) Press CTRL + S to save the document and close it
4) Re-open the document and the layers and spare channel are all intact as it should be

Now carry out these steps:

1) Open the attached ZIP file (it contains a TIFF with an alpha channel and a spare channel)
2) Draw on the bottom layer with a brush
3) Delete the layer with text on it
4) Press CTRL + S to save the document and close it
5) Re-open it and the spare channel is now gone

I think Affinity Photo needs to check whether there are spare channels before saving, so that it doesn't delete the users spare channels from the document.  In addition, it also needs to check whether things such as text layers are present too, because if you have a non-rasterised text layer it will also be flattened when saving, rather than keeping the layer intact.

 

Windows 10 - 14393.693
Affinity Photo - 1.5.1.54

Surface-Studio.zip (file no longer available)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Please note the Annual Company Closure section in the Terms of Use. These are the Terms of Use you will be asked to agree to if you join the forum. | Privacy Policy | Guidelines | We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.