You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Linux Availability???

The main image editing program for Linux - GIMP - has a clumsy user interface. Why hasn't Affinity offered Serif for Linux? I prefer a native version without need for Wine or other means. The costs of your licenses seem very reasonable and my hunch is there are many Linux users who would purchase and use Serif. Eventually GIMP may get improved so the opportunity is now.

• Staff

Hi EWScott,

Welcome to Affinity Forums  :)

Currently there's no plans to port Affinity to Linux. This was already requested and discussed in quite a few threads where some of the developers have already explained their points of view.

Check those two for more info:

Affinity for Linux

Linux. Seriously now.

...The costs of your licenses seem very reasonable and my hunch is there are many Linux users who would purchase and use Serif...

Indeed. I certainly would. I work in the software industry (QA) and many of the people I work with are switching to Linux, because of where Microsoft and Apple seem to be trying to take computing. I'm switching after being a hardcore Mac user for over thirty years.

So I already have AP from the App Store for Mac. How do I sidegrade from Affinity Photo MAS to the Windows version to see if it works on Linux via wine? Is there at least some documentation on getting AP Windows working on Linux, so that Linux users can determine if this is feasible before they purchase a version they can't use?

bradford,

I believe that you can't switch your licences. Here is a link https://forum.affinity.serif.com/index.php?/topic/34909-mac-windows-switch/?p=171062.

Why not just download the Windows beta and try it to see if it works. If it does then you can decide if you want to go that route, if not nothing lost.