Jump to content
Leoz

Disable automatic tool switching?

Recommended Posts

I just bought Affinity Designer and Photo, but there's a "feature" that throws me off all the time: when I for example press 'N' to select the pencil and then press it again, it selects the last used tool. I guess it makes sense to cycle tools if there are multiple tools in the same group, but I often press a shortcut just to make sure I have the right tool selected, so this behaviour is very annoying. I couldn't find the option in the preferences and the built-in Help didn't bring any results.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Leoz,

Welcome to Affinity Forums :)

Currently there's no way to disable this behaviour. You can however customise the tools shortcuts (menu Affinity Designer/Photo ▸ Preferences, Keyboard Shortcuts section - select Photo and Tools in the dropdowns for Photo and Draw and Tools in the dropdowns for Designer) - giving each one its own shortcut to prevent this from happening with tools belonging to the same group.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

[...] giving each one its own shortcut to prevent this from happening.

 

Thanks for the fast answer! This doesn't solve the problem though, it only prevents cycling through tools of the same group (for example Artistic Text Tool<->Frame Text Tool - when pressing 'T' multiple times).

My problem is that if I'm using the Pen Tool (shortcut 'P'), switch to the Move Tool by pressing 'V', work with the tool and then press 'V' again, it switches back to the Pen Tool without me pressing the shortcut for the Pen Tool ('P'). Customizing shortcuts doesn't prevent that.

 

Guess I'll have to live with it then...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, it also bother me, though it would a case of being used to, but... no. Disabling this cycling feature in preferences would be nice.

 

+1 !


intel i7-3930K - 32Go - SSDs | Dual screen | Running last customer beta

Win 7 Pro SP1 x64 | nVidia GTX 680 - v376.33 | intuos 3 - v6.3.15-3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I totally agree.  I want to know if I hit an A that I will be in the Node tool, not some other tool.

 

FYI this was requested before: https://forum.affinity.serif.com/index.php?/topic/3783-ambiguous-tool-shortcut-keys/?hl=tools

 

Maybe a few more requests and we can convince someone that this should be a preference we can set.


iMac (27-inch, Late 2009) with macOS Sierra

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

+1  I completely agree!

 

This is by far my biggest hangup with the program, for the exact reasons others have already explained. 

 

It negates the time savings/purpose of using shortcuts if you have to stop and think about how it will behave depending on certain circumstances, and then look over to double-check you have the tool you intended. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Since the latest version (1.6.7) still does not have an option to disable this "feature", I figured this thread needed to be revived.

Is there any update on this? Will we see it in 1.7? I cannot think of any other software that behaves this way and find it very disrupting to my workflow.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, this is very annoying and needs to have the option to be disabled. I find it the worst when using a graphic tablet as using the hotkeys on the pen make this issue even more of a nuisance. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Agree that this feature never benefits me. It's not just a matter of 'getting used to it' either, it's bad UX. It *might* be useful if your workflow involves only two tools, but I think that's probably very uncommon. Most users change tools a lot and don't remember the last one they used. Plus your cursor doesn't always change in appearance when you change tools so you often have no quick or intuitive way of knowing which tool you're currently using. 

I vote to get rid of this entirely, but the option to disable it seems like an easy fix that would please everyone.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 4/30/2018 at 11:51 PM, thomasp said:

Agreed, would be great to be able to set this as a preference.

 

5 minutes ago, Evan D said:

I vote to get rid of this entirely, but the option to disable it seems like an easy fix that would please everyone.

In the version 1.7 beta there’s a Preferences setting for this.


Alfred online2long.gif
Affinity Designer/Photo/Publisher 1.7.3.481 • Windows 10 Home (4th gen Core i3 CPU)
Affinity Photo for iPad 1.7.3.155 • Designer for iPad 1.7.3.1 • iOS 12.4.1 (iPad Air 2)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
38 minutes ago, Alfred said:

 

In the version 1.7 beta there’s a Preferences setting for this.

Are you referring to the 'use SHIFT to cycle tools' option?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
40 minutes ago, thomasp said:

Are you referring to the 'use SHIFT to cycle tools' option?

Yes, that’s the one! It affects the ‘return to previous tool’ behaviour as well as cycling through tools in a group.

 


Alfred online2long.gif
Affinity Designer/Photo/Publisher 1.7.3.481 • Windows 10 Home (4th gen Core i3 CPU)
Affinity Photo for iPad 1.7.3.155 • Designer for iPad 1.7.3.1 • iOS 12.4.1 (iPad Air 2)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×

Important Information

These are the Terms of Use you will be asked to agree to if you join the forum. | Privacy Policy | Guidelines | We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.