You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Hello, I need some help, im interested in buying affinity designer to be my go to app for android apps development, since I never done any apps yet, im still a newbie (in both, designing and coding), as you know designers should consider the many possible screen densities to support multiple screen app development for android... I saw in your tutorial video that you can export slices to 1x, 2x, 3x etc, now according to android documentation there are a set of six generalized densities: 

• ldpi (low) ~120dpi
  • mdpi (medium) ~160dpi
  • hdpi (high) ~240dpi
  • xhdpi (extra-high) ~320dpi
  • xxhdpi (extra-extra-high) ~480dpi
  • xxxhdpi (extra-extra-extra-high) ~640dpi

The density-independent pixel is equivalent to one physical pixel on a 160 dpi screen (mdpi)..

1. now when I select new document, which settings (dpi) should I choose to support all 6 densities? (detailed answer please?)

2. hdpi has 1.5 conversion rate coming from mdpi, from the video I only saw integer values, so is there a way?

3. what if I'm already working on hdpi document, how can I convert down to mdpi? I didnt see options to downscale

PS. I know this got asked before but please provide assets for android development.

thank you.

• 3 weeks later...
  • Staff

Hi Mr_IzeQ :)

I've not exported Android slices before but according to this useful site LDPI is not longer supported, so that can be ignored. You will want to start your base design using MDPI.

In the Slices Panel you will need to enter 1.5x to create assets for HDPI, 2x for XHDPI, 3x for XXHDPI and 4x for XXXHDPI.

Not sure if you're going to be able to export back to mdpi from your hdpi document though, might be better off converting your existing document to mdpi and working from there.

Hi,