You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

How to quickly crop a document?

Hello,

I am new in AD and try to find my marks. So far I didn't find an answer for this: how can I quickly change the size of a document? The Crop tool doesn't seem to work to set the size of the canvas.

Thank you

• Staff

Hi Veti,

If you are using a regular (non-artboard) document you have to go to the Document Setup dialog ( menu File ▸ Document Setup...) and change the document dimensions there. Make sure Objects will: Anchor to Page button is selected.

If you are using artboard based documents, you can use the Move Tool or the Artboard Tool to drag the boundaries (bounding box handles) of the artboard (make sure the artboard layer is selected in the Layers panel).

If you are using a regular (non-artboard) document you have to go to the Document Setup dialog ( menu File ▸ Document Setup...) and change the document dimensions there. Make sure Objects will: Anchor to Page button is selected.

Hi Meb,

thank you for the help. Hum, what if I can see where I would like to crop but I don't know which dimension it will result to?

• Staff

Affinity Designer doesn't have a document based Crop Tool (similar to Affinity Photo) so there's no visual feedback for this. There's some workarounds but they are not that practical: you may use a stroked rectangle to "position" the "crop area" then look at the Transform panel to see its dimensions before using the Document Setup dialog to resize the document or alternatively convert the document to an artboard, use four guides to define the crop area you are interested in then drag the artboard boundaries to the guides (make sure Snap to guides is checked in the Snapping Manager).

• 2 weeks later...