You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Color profile looks different in different device after image export

Hello,

I am new to affinity photo. I am shooting in sRGB all the time. After export of RAW files to JEPG format, i have observed that the color profiles looks drastically different in my macbook, iphone and ipad.

I am mostly doing web publishing. 

I am using the pre-calibrated "sRGB" color profile for macbook and I am importing the same profile in "Develop" module and during "export" of the images.

Most of the time i transmit these JPG to my iphone for uploading in flickr or instagram.

It is at this instant , i find that the colors look dull and i need to edit them again using the above two platform's option.

It would be very nice if someone can guide me out of this puzzle !

• 5 weeks later...

I'm not knowledgeable on the topic of color management (I'm just starting), but if I'm not mistaken, you shouldn't embed your monitor's sRGB profile into the picture; wouldn't that profile get overloaded on top of your iphone/ipad's display profile, causing further alterations in the colors?

Instead, I'd embed a generic sRGB colorspace into the picture such as the sRGB IEC61966-2.1

• 2 weeks later...
  • Staff

Thanks for the update. Just to confirm, when you preview the .jpg in Apple's Preview does Inspector show that the sRGB profile is embedded? I don't have an iPhone but I will test on my colleagues iPhone tomorrow ( when he's back in the office ).

• Staff

Hey mayukh, as F_Kal mentioned above, could we just clarify what you mean by using a pre-calibrated "sRGB" profile? On MacBooks, the default colour profile is usually "Color LCD". Are you assigning this as the colour profile when developing your images?

If that is the case, you should really avoid using "display" profiles with your images - use standardised editing profiles like sRGB IEC61966-2.1, Adobe RGB, ProPhoto etc.