You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Installing Plugins

Hi, folks:

I'm an Affinity newbie and I am in need of some assistance. I have PS, LR, ON1, Luminar, and Aurora HDR 2017 installed on the same drive on which I installed Affinity Photo. Whether or not any of these are as yet functional in Affinity Photo, I would appreciate instructions on how to install them as plugins (or where to find the instructions) for Affinity Photo.

Thanks in advance for your help

A. J.

There are two parts to your question so let me try to address them separately.

1) As good as it is in pretty much every other way, Affinity Photo (AP) still has plugin issues and many Photoshop plugins will not work or will not work properly. There are technical reasons for this (AP is sold through the App Store and so much live by Apple's rules while Photoshop is not sold through the App Store and thus can do what it wants so there are what the developers refer to as "sandbox issues" having to do with memory restrictions) and AP is working on them but none of your listed apps will work with AP as plugins. That is, none of the OnOne plugins will work if called from AP, Luminar will not work as a plugin from AP and, in fact, Aurora will not work (or at least the old version of Aurora, I have not tried the new one) and ACR will not work as a plugin.

There are many that will work - for example many of the Topaz plugins will work, and you can get the Topaz general plugin photoFXLab which says will will run many other 3rd party plugins, and use that as photoFXLab will work when called by AP, but many others will not. It is still a work in progress.

2) The process for installing plugins into AP is as follows:

a - Open AP or APB (Affinity Photo Beta) and open the Preferences dialog box (Affinity Photo -> Preferences),

b - You have 2 ways to install a plugin.