You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Hello Friends,

I'm a newbie. I'm working on a picture of a diamond with a glow around it. I am mad at myself because I've already achieved the effect I wanted, but I was working on a lower quality picture (not the "master file") and I've deleted the file I was working on and kept the small print screen only. So there is no trace of how I've made it. But at least I know it is possible in my wonderful Affinity Photo.

Maybe you can help? I would be very grateful. I've already spent many hours and I'm on the edge to give up. I just can't make it. The question is, what features apart from the "outer glow effect" have to be used to achieve the effect? I'm attaching two print screens here - 1) Were I am now; and 2) What I need to achieve.

Aurea Prima

post-38406-0-46880100-1481998020_thumb.png

post-38406-0-35225900-1481998033_thumb.png

The diamond you are aiming for has a wider (bigger radius), softer (less intense) Outer Glow.

And it also has an Inner Glow.

Remember that you can click the little cog icon by a layer effect to get more controls.

See my attached file to see what I did to make something similar.

post-43096-0-66071700-1482013850_thumb.png

I also added a shadow, a sparkle, some shading with a Gradient Overlay (radial), some adjustments to increase Contrast and Vibrancy.

In each case I tried various Blend Modes to see what looked best.

Diamond Glow.afdesign

Win10 Home x64   |   AMD Ryzen 7 2700X @ 3.7GHz   |   48 GB RAM   |   1TB SSD   |   nVidia GTX 1660   |   Wacom Intuos Pro

Thank you very much, Aammppaa,

I really appreciate. I've played with the features you mentioned but still I'm not there. I was trying to make the Outer Glow less intense, but the glow nearly disappeared. The Inner Glow was already there. Gradient Overlay, Contrast and Vibrance didn't effect the glow.