You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Help w/ preparing for a print file

I am brand new to graphics software, and starting with new Affinity Designer. I have been watching video after video, and oh my I am so overwhelmed. I managed to make my first time ever picture, sort of I think. I don't know if I even started correctly, or if its even usable. So my question is, is there somewhere I am missing in tutorials information on how to set up my document before starting so that is ready for different uses? Logos, and most of all print ready. I have been looking, and read this page http://designinstruct.com/print-design/a-guide-to-preparing-files-for-print/   
Its an guide outline from start to finish to make something print ready, and a summary at the bottom to use. Is there anything like this for affinity users? Can anyone help me with this, as I need to get going. I guess I'm just not understanding all the formats, file types, what can be printed, what can't
Thanks

Do you know where this will be printed? They will generally have guidelines as to how they want the output file prepared--such as bleed or not, safe zones, page size, color profiles, perhaps even PDF output profiles, etc. It is always a best practice to look on their web site, talk with them personally or via email. They also typically have a list of what types of output files they prefer--such as image formats (jpg, tiff, etc) or, as most desire, PDFs and in particular the type of PDF.