You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Is there a way to create a path from a selection?

Hello everyone! 

I'm brand new to this forum as I just bought Affinity Photo and Designer to replace a couple of Adobe products! I LOVE Affinity but I'm still learning some of the ins and outs. 

One of the biggest features I loved about photoshop was the ability to use the quick selection wand and then create a path from the selection. This was great because I always use vector masks when cutting out objects and it saves me tons of time, not having to use the pen tool to draw around parts of an object. 

Vector masks are the best because of the control and percisioun that you can achieve on the edges. I'm hoping Affinity Designer or photo has this function but I didn't see it anywhere. If anyone knows if this is possible, let me know! I'd really appreciate it! 

I can still make my masks using the pen tool but using a selection would be fantastic! :)

Welcome to the Affinity Forums, Poptoogi. :)

It's currently only possible to create a selection from a path, not the other way around.

Alfred spacer.png
Affinity Designer/Photo/Publisher 2 for Windows • Windows 10 Home/Pro
Affinity Designer/Photo/Publisher 2 for iPad • iPadOS 17.4.1 (iPad 7th gen)

• 2 weeks later...

Hi Poptoogi, I'm glad your question was answered. I too especially look forward to that feature for when it arrives. Also, if you're just starting out, I'll add that there is a special technique to make that feature very helpful; paste inside objects. That's what this person does with the fish and second ball in this video to add shading effects. I thinking that's fantastic.

The website is still a work in progress. The "Comics" and "Shop" sections are not yet ready. Feel free to connect with me and let me know what you like or what can be improved. You can contact me here, on my contact page, YouTube channel, or Twitter account. Thanks and have a great day!

Also...