You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Hello,

I'm a total beginner to vector drawing and AD. I'm trying to intersect, I think, 2 shapes. I have a rectangle and a line. The line starts outside the rectangle goes through it and comes out on the other side and beyond. Is there an easy way where I could select the line and the rectangle press a magic button so the line is cut so that only the section of the line strictly within the boundaries of the rectangle survives? I tried the AD intersect button but nothing happened other than both the line and rectangle disappeared!?! I looked for an AD manual but couldn't find one.

Many thanks

• Staff

Hi egm1b,

Welcome to Affinity Forums :)

Affinity Designer doesn't support geometric operations between open paths (lines) and shapes. Only between shapes (closed paths).

You have to use the Node Tool to add nodes where the line cross the boundaries of the shape and break them.

Alternatively you can drag the line layer over the rectangle layer in the Layers panel to use the rectangle as a clipping layer for the line.

Affinity Designer doesn't support geometric operations between open paths (lines) and shapes. Only between shapes (closed paths).

That's what I thought, Miguel, but the current Windows beta build (1.5.0.8) allows me to perform Boolean operations between unclosed curves (or between shapes and unclosed curves).

Alfred spacer.png
Affinity Designer/Photo/Publisher 2 for Windows • Windows 10 Home/Pro
Affinity Designer/Photo/Publisher 2 for iPad • iPadOS 17.4.1 (iPad 7th gen)

• Staff

Affinity Designer is simply closing the line converting it to a closed shape (joining its end nodes) then performing the boolean operation with the other shape. Depending where the end nodes of the line are located this may end messing up the boolean operation results.