James Ritson

Photo
Photo FAQs Answered With Tutorials

68 posts in this topic

This thread contains a variety of commonly asked questions ranging from straightforward tasks to more technically demanding operations. We've worked hard on providing lots of tutorial content - you can see all the videos at affin.co/PhotoVids - and we hope you find the videos useful in getting to grips with the app.

Let's begin!

---

Q: I'm completely new to image editing, where do I start?

A: Check out our Beginners Series! You can also download practice files used in the videos.

---

Q: How do I copy and paste a part of one image into another image?

A: See Cutting Out.

---

Q: How do I make some basic adjustments to my images?

A: See these videos:

---

Q: There’s no write-up or documentation about the app and its tools!

A: There is, it’s in-app. We keep it up to date and make sure it’s comprehensive. See Accessing Help.

---

Q: How do I resize an image?

A: See Image/Canvas Resize.

---

Q: Where's the option to transform/scale/rotate layers?

A: Check out Scaling and Transforming.

---

Q: How do I export my images from Photo?

---

Q: How do I remove unwanted elements from an image?

A: Use the Inpainting Brush.

---

Q: I just want to make my image black and white, can I do that?

A: You can: Creative Black and White.

---

Q: I want to change the colour of somebody's eyes, what's the easiest approach?

A: Try one of these two techniques explored in Changing Eye Colour.

---

Q: Can I add text/watermarking to my images?

A: Yes, see Text: Watermarking/Branding.

---

Q: How do I get started with Frequency Separation and retouching?

---

Q: I can't recover highlights very well with RAW files, any tips?

A: Try using a Custom Tone Curve and Maximising your Raw Latitude.

---

Q: Can I merge bracketed exposures to HDR images?

A: You bet, Photo's 32-bit support in general is really comprehensive. Check these out:

---

Q: I don't understand how layers work, any advice?