bengedlow

Blur tool doesn't seem to DO anything?

I'm a newbie.  I click the layer (a photograph) I'm working on.  I click the 'Blur' tool.  I choose size, hardness, flow etc.

And click click click ... it doesn't seem to have an effect on the layer.

If I choose an adjustment layer, say Gaussian blur, then my only choice is to blur the entire image.

So I'm missing something on the 'Blur' tool ... and can't seem to find an answer in all the terrific tutorials you have.

A hint?  A clue?

All the best,

Ben

Hi MEB.  I have the layer highlighted in the Layers panel – the layer of the photo.  I add a New Live Filter Layer ... or even just a Filter Layer = Gaussian blur.

I click the Blur tool.  The Blur tool doesn't do anything.  I keep looking back to the Layers ... the Blur adjustment is embedded in the Photo layer.  I can't JUST click the adjustment layer, coz it's 'attached' to the photo layer.  But highlighting the both ... the Blur toll ain't working.

???

I also just highlight the photo layer (no adjustment layer added) ... and try to use the tool. Nada.  Nothing.

Thanks for the info.

The Blur Tool you find in the Tools on the left and the Filters are two different things. You don't need to add a Blur filter to work with the Blur Tool.

To use the Blur Tool select it and paint directly over the area you want to blur. Just make sure the layer you want to affect is selected. It must also be a Pixel layer type - you can identify the type of layer looking at the label between parenthesis after the layer's name in the Layers panel. If it's identified as an (Image) layer type, right click on it in the Layers panel and select Rasterise, however this should not be necessary as Affinity Photo automatically converts it for you as soon as you start painting with the Blur tool.