You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Inkscape SVG text not importing properly to AF Designer V2

I have a design that I began working on in Inkscape. When I went to continue working on it in AF Designer V2, the text does not import correctly. The smaller text above and below the "HURTS, HANG-UPS, AND HABITS" text is not centered like it's supposed to be.

I am new to both Inkscape and AF Designer so any exporting/importing advice is greatly appreciated.

Attached are all three SVG files as well as screenshots of what I see in Inkscape and AF Designer.

File as shown (correctly) in Inkscape:

ScreenShot2023-11-28at3_38_53PM.thumb.png.57de00734853946ce886b9d4a78f804c.png

Inkscape SVG file as shown in AF Designer:ScreenShot2023-11-28at3_40_48PM.thumb.png.a2b0fb0dc495a331e78b7375f6da7b75.png

Plain SVG file as shown in AF Designer:

ScreenShot2023-11-28at3_40_50PM.thumb.png.f3b8367b2673faa638bd54f0b0d6ff32.png

CR Shirts Test ORIGINAL INKSCAPE FILE.svg

CR Shirts Test Inkscape SVG.svg

CR Shirts Test Plain SVG.svg

• Staff

Welcome to the forums @Anonymous Puddle,

The issue doesn't appear to be specific to Affinity, if you open any of your attached .SVG files in a web browser view or another SVG compatible app such as Illustrator the text also isn't centred, see the screenshot below for reference. 

image.png

The problem could be the fact that both the top and bottom text exists as a part of the same text object in Inkscape with alignment rules and a high leading value set, and when this is exported to SVG and parsed in Affinity/Other apps the singular text frame is split into two separate Art text layers and the original text alignment is lost as a result.