Jump to content
You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Affinity Designer v1 Ipad - When I  Fill Outer Side Of The Letter O The Inner Side Is Also Filled


Recommended Posts

O.thumb.png.7a5d42b02fbc1bb34ac69db0411ea11e.pngI want to draw and fill the letter o. (Traced on a letter o (Red))

 

  1. I traced the outher side of the letter o.

 

2. I traced the inner side of the letter o.

 

When I try to fill the outer side of the letter o the inner side of It is also covered.

 

How can I fill the outer side of the letter O without covering the inner side?

 

(Later I both fix the nodes on the outer side and the inner side of the letter o)

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

It would help to have a sample .afdesign document, but at a minimum please show us the Layers studio so we can see what you really have.

My guess would be that the "outside" line is a large circle covering completely the small circle, and so you have two shapes and you'll need to subtract one from the other or do an intersection of some kind.

Why are you tracing letter forms? Why not just use the letters?

-- Walt
Designer, Photo, and Publisher V1 and V2 at latest retail and beta releases
PC:
    Desktop:  Windows 11 Pro, version 23H2, 64GB memory, AMD Ryzen 9 5900 12-Core @ 3.00 GHz, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 

    Laptop:  Windows 11 Pro, version 23H2, 32GB memory, Intel Core i7-10750H @ 2.60GHz, Intel UHD Graphics Comet Lake GT2 and NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3070 Laptop GPU.
iPad:  iPad Pro M1, 12.9": iPadOS 17.3, Apple Pencil 2, Magic Keyboard 
Mac:  2023 M2 MacBook Air 15", 16GB memory, macOS Sonoma 14.3.1

Link to comment
Share on other sites

First, you need to Join the 3 parts of the outer curve so it is one curve, as mentioned in another of your topics. You can do that using the Join function of the Node Tool.

Next, still with the Node Tool, you can select both curves, and then from the Edit menu, you can choose Join Curves.

Finally, you can Fill the resulting Curves using the Color studio.

 

The Letter O-filled.afdesign

-- Walt
Designer, Photo, and Publisher V1 and V2 at latest retail and beta releases
PC:
    Desktop:  Windows 11 Pro, version 23H2, 64GB memory, AMD Ryzen 9 5900 12-Core @ 3.00 GHz, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 

    Laptop:  Windows 11 Pro, version 23H2, 32GB memory, Intel Core i7-10750H @ 2.60GHz, Intel UHD Graphics Comet Lake GT2 and NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3070 Laptop GPU.
iPad:  iPad Pro M1, 12.9": iPadOS 17.3, Apple Pencil 2, Magic Keyboard 
Mac:  2023 M2 MacBook Air 15", 16GB memory, macOS Sonoma 14.3.1

Link to comment
Share on other sites

15 minutes ago, Mainecoon364 said:

Step 2) I selected all the nodes (Both outer side and inner side of the letter O) And Joined them.

You did not do that. You still have 2 separate Curve objects, and you apparently selected both and Filled them (both).

Note that I did not say "select all the nodes" but "select both curves" (i.e., from the Layers panel). I don't know if that would be significant or not, but you definitely still have 2 Curve objects, not one Joined Curves object.

My Layers panel (shown on Windows, but iPad should be similar):

image.png.cf37f780a53427479111a703c8a5b13f.png

Layers panel from your file:

image.png.c93fc69c9c470d20bf4bc350884d5e2b.png

 

 

-- Walt
Designer, Photo, and Publisher V1 and V2 at latest retail and beta releases
PC:
    Desktop:  Windows 11 Pro, version 23H2, 64GB memory, AMD Ryzen 9 5900 12-Core @ 3.00 GHz, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 

    Laptop:  Windows 11 Pro, version 23H2, 32GB memory, Intel Core i7-10750H @ 2.60GHz, Intel UHD Graphics Comet Lake GT2 and NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3070 Laptop GPU.
iPad:  iPad Pro M1, 12.9": iPadOS 17.3, Apple Pencil 2, Magic Keyboard 
Mac:  2023 M2 MacBook Air 15", 16GB memory, macOS Sonoma 14.3.1

Link to comment
Share on other sites

A) I choose all the nodes with the Node Tool. Join Curves is not clickable on the Context Toolbar.

 

B) I choose all the nodes with the Node Tool. Then I choose a node from the outer side then put a finger of my other hand to the screen and choose the second node from the inner side. Join Curves is not clickable on the Context Toolbar.

 

C) (I didn’t record this on the video screenshot) I choose outer curve then put a finger of my other hand to the screen then choose the inner curve. Then while finger is on the screen I choose one node from the outer curve and one from the inner curve. Join Curves is not clickable on the Context Toolbar.

 

So how to join outer and inner curvers?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Select the two curves in the Layers studio, while the Node Tool is selected. 

Use Join Curves from the Edit menu (as I said before).

Do not Fill them until they are Joined.

-- Walt
Designer, Photo, and Publisher V1 and V2 at latest retail and beta releases
PC:
    Desktop:  Windows 11 Pro, version 23H2, 64GB memory, AMD Ryzen 9 5900 12-Core @ 3.00 GHz, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 

    Laptop:  Windows 11 Pro, version 23H2, 32GB memory, Intel Core i7-10750H @ 2.60GHz, Intel UHD Graphics Comet Lake GT2 and NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3070 Laptop GPU.
iPad:  iPad Pro M1, 12.9": iPadOS 17.3, Apple Pencil 2, Magic Keyboard 
Mac:  2023 M2 MacBook Air 15", 16GB memory, macOS Sonoma 14.3.1

Link to comment
Share on other sites

5 hours ago, Mainecoon364 said:

However Join Button does not appear on the Context Toolbar.

I said, above, "from the Edit menu". Please try that.

-- Walt
Designer, Photo, and Publisher V1 and V2 at latest retail and beta releases
PC:
    Desktop:  Windows 11 Pro, version 23H2, 64GB memory, AMD Ryzen 9 5900 12-Core @ 3.00 GHz, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 

    Laptop:  Windows 11 Pro, version 23H2, 32GB memory, Intel Core i7-10750H @ 2.60GHz, Intel UHD Graphics Comet Lake GT2 and NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3070 Laptop GPU.
iPad:  iPad Pro M1, 12.9": iPadOS 17.3, Apple Pencil 2, Magic Keyboard 
Mac:  2023 M2 MacBook Air 15", 16GB memory, macOS Sonoma 14.3.1

Link to comment
Share on other sites

5 hours ago, Mainecoon364 said:

Join Button does not appear on the Context Toolbar

Your screenshot shows that the ‘Break’ button is active, which tells you that one (or both) of the selected curves is closed. You cannot join closed curves, so you need to break them first.

Alfred spacer.png
Affinity Designer/Photo/Publisher 2 for Windows • Windows 10 Home/Pro
Affinity Designer/Photo/Publisher 2 for iPad • iPadOS 17.3.1 (iPad 7th gen)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

10 minutes ago, Alfred said:

Your screenshot shows that the ‘Break’ button is active, which tells you that one (or both) of the selected curves is closed. You cannot join closed curves, so you need to break them first.

I Joined them without Breaking first, above. Or were the Curves not Closed then?

 

-- Walt
Designer, Photo, and Publisher V1 and V2 at latest retail and beta releases
PC:
    Desktop:  Windows 11 Pro, version 23H2, 64GB memory, AMD Ryzen 9 5900 12-Core @ 3.00 GHz, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 

    Laptop:  Windows 11 Pro, version 23H2, 32GB memory, Intel Core i7-10750H @ 2.60GHz, Intel UHD Graphics Comet Lake GT2 and NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3070 Laptop GPU.
iPad:  iPad Pro M1, 12.9": iPadOS 17.3, Apple Pencil 2, Magic Keyboard 
Mac:  2023 M2 MacBook Air 15", 16GB memory, macOS Sonoma 14.3.1

Link to comment
Share on other sites

54 minutes ago, walt.farrell said:

I Joined them without Breaking first, above. Or were the Curves not Closed then?

I didn’t download either of the OP’s files, so I’m only going by what I saw in the video and the subsequent screenshot. If you were able to join two curves without breaking them first, they must both have been open.

Alfred spacer.png
Affinity Designer/Photo/Publisher 2 for Windows • Windows 10 Home/Pro
Affinity Designer/Photo/Publisher 2 for iPad • iPadOS 17.3.1 (iPad 7th gen)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

8 hours ago, Mainecoon364 said:

It is the same both

A) I merge the layers.

B) I group the layers.

???

 

I very much doubt that you used the Merge Curves command that I suggested. I think you tried something else with the word merge in it.

Edit: Looking at the online help for the iPad app, it seems the commands Merge Curves and Separate Curves are missing. So select the two circular Curve objects, give them a fill colour and then use the Xor command.

 

Edited by lepr
Xor needs filled objects
Link to comment
Share on other sites

On 8/21/2023 at 2:13 PM, lepr said:

I very much doubt that you used the Merge Curves command that I suggested. I think you tried something else with the word merge in it.

Quite correct. The video posted by @Mainecoon364 shows an attempt to the layer option ‘Merge Selected’.

On 8/21/2023 at 2:13 PM, lepr said:

Edit: Looking at the online help for the iPad app, it seems the commands Merge Curves and Separate Curves are missing.

Both of those commands are available via the ‘Operations’ section of the Edit (‘…’) menu in AD1 on iPad.3B64A41A-87AD-4781-9D30-34C9AEAF8B9F.jpeg.d5fb455b5cd42e39ff4a8aee01106adb.jpeg

Alfred spacer.png
Affinity Designer/Photo/Publisher 2 for Windows • Windows 10 Home/Pro
Affinity Designer/Photo/Publisher 2 for iPad • iPadOS 17.3.1 (iPad 7th gen)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

59 minutes ago, Mainecoon364 said:

Question 1) What do I do wrong?

You did not follow my instructions.

Select the pair of Curve objects, give them a fill colour, and then use either the Edit > Geometry > Xor command or Edit > Operations > Merge Curves command to combine them into a O-shaped object.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

55 minutes ago, Mainecoon364 said:

Question 2) Is there a way to underestand If there is open curve or not?

As I said in an earlier post:

On 8/21/2023 at 12:15 PM, Alfred said:

Your screenshot shows that the ‘Break’ button is active, which tells you that one (or both) of the selected curves is closed.

When you select a closed curve with the Node Tool, the ‘Break’ button will be enabled. When you select an open curve with the Node Tool, the ‘Close’ button will be enabled. Those two buttons are never both enabled at the same time.

Alfred spacer.png
Affinity Designer/Photo/Publisher 2 for Windows • Windows 10 Home/Pro
Affinity Designer/Photo/Publisher 2 for iPad • iPadOS 17.3.1 (iPad 7th gen)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

10 minutes ago, Alfred said:

I think you’re right. I suspect that @Mainecoon364 tried one (or more) of the layer options ‘Merge Down’, ‘Merge Selected’ or ‘Merge Visible’.

Yes, the newest video showed another attempt at using Merge Selected.

10 minutes ago, Alfred said:

Both of [Merge Curves and Separate Curves] are available via the ‘Operations’ section of the Edit (‘…’) menu in AD1 on iPad.

Thanks for the screenshot. I searched the online Help for AD2 on iPad and got no hits.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 minute ago, lepr said:

Yes, the newest video showed another attempt at using Merge Selected.

As you’ll no doubt have seen, I edited my post to reflect that. I didn’t watch the newest video until after I posted!

Alfred spacer.png
Affinity Designer/Photo/Publisher 2 for Windows • Windows 10 Home/Pro
Affinity Designer/Photo/Publisher 2 for iPad • iPadOS 17.3.1 (iPad 7th gen)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

17 minutes ago, Alfred said:

As you’ll no doubt have seen, I edited my post to reflect that.

Why do you say "no doubt"? I'm only seeing that edit now because you've said you made the edit and so I refreshed the page. I quoted your pre-edit words because that's what was in my browser at the time. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

15 hours ago, lepr said:

Why do you say "no doubt"?

Because I’m a master of the unwarranted assumption, of course!

15 hours ago, lepr said:

I'm only seeing that edit now because you've said you made the edit and so I refreshed the page. I quoted your pre-edit words because that's what was in my browser at the time. 

Understood. It’s a pity that the forum notifications system doesn’t flag up edits, but I don’t think that’s something Serif can tweak.

Alfred spacer.png
Affinity Designer/Photo/Publisher 2 for Windows • Windows 10 Home/Pro
Affinity Designer/Photo/Publisher 2 for iPad • iPadOS 17.3.1 (iPad 7th gen)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Guidelines | We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.