You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Can slices control which layers are visible?

I'm new to slices in Designer. I've drawn a large map and I want to slices of it without including the place names not relevant to the current slice.

My Layers set up is essentially:
- Slice 1 - Names
- Slice 2 - Names
- Slice 3 - Names

Imagine a map of the United States. I want to export a slice that includes a couple of states with their city names visible. But although the slice will include parts of neighbouring states, I don't want their city names visible.

It seems that it's up to me to have to toggle layer visibility, export that single slice, toggle the layers again, export that single slice, etc. Is there no way to associate layer visibility with slices or am I missing something?

Thanks,

Mike

Download a free manual for Publisher 2.4 from this forum - expanded 300-page PDF

My system: Affinity 2.4.2 for macOS Sonoma 14.4.1, MacBook Pro 14" (M1 Pro)

10 minutes ago, MikeTO said:

It seems that it's up to me to have to toggle layer visibility, export that single slice, toggle the layers again, export that single slice, etc. Is there no way to associate layer visibility with slices or am I missing something?

Not sure if I correctly understood what you are mean here visibility wise, or if you meant something else instead, but you usually can toggle on/off visibility on the usual layers panel and export persona slices layer panel independently of each other here.

See also related ...

☛ Affinity Designer 1.10.8 ◆ Affinity Photo 1.10.8 ◆ Affinity Publisher 1.10.8 ◆ OSX El Capitan
☛ Affinity V2.3 apps ◆ MacOS Sonoma 14.2 ◆ iPad OS 17.2