Is there a detailed list anywhere of what gets reset when the various options to clear user data are used? Some seem obvious, others not so much.   Related, what if any are the differences between using the startup clear options & the similarly named ones in the Preferences > Miscellaneous panel?   Also, which user preferences, if any, are stored in plist files that could be examined or copied to restore them if clearing them does not improve anything, & where are they stored?