You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Newbie question : 4-channel RGBA TIF file with alpha channel - alpha doesn't work, can't save back to TIF

Complete newbie here, day 1 in Affinity Photo 2. Fell at the very first hurdle.

My workflow is and always has been for TIF images (textures for 3D Models) to have 4 channels - R,B,G and Alpha. When I load one of these into AP2, I see a lot more channels than I'm expecting (composite R,G,B, background R,G,B, background alpha, pixel selection and "Unassociated alpha").

For the life of me I can't seem to get just four channels - R,G,B and A. The loaded file won't allow me to save back to a TIF - it's trying to force me to save it as an .afphoto file.

I don't want the premultiplied alpha that you can get by loading the unassociated alpha to background alpha (and even then, I can't seem to save as a TIF - again it's forcing me to save as a .afphoto file). I need the alpha channel to stay as it is in the TIF file - a separate grayscale channel.

I've spent a couple of hours trying to pick through the forums and online help and I can't seem get to the bottom of what I consider to be the most simple, basic thing - how do I open, edit and save a basic, four-channel TIF image?

Attached are pics of what a typical texture looks like in Photoshop, and how it's coming out in AP2.

photoshop_alpha.jpg

affinity_alpha.jpg

@chrisell

I can't help you with the alpha channel problems, sorry, but to "save" any image file to any format other than .aphoto you must Export it, (File>Export) or use the Export Persona.

HTH

Win 10 Pro, i7 6700K, 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX1660 Ti and Intel HD530 Graphics

Long-time user of Serif products, chiefly PagePlus and PhotoPlus, but also WebPlus, CraftArtistProfessional and DrawPlus.  Delighted to be using Affinity Designer, Photo, and now Publisher, version 1 and now version 2.