jeffreydevey

Boolean operations on single shapes with intersecting segments

I'm just getting started with Designer and am excited about its potential. Excellent work by the Affinity team!

I create logos and lettering primarily, and with my method of building shapes with the pen tool, I intersect my line segments in order to be able to edit anchor points and handles of one segment without altering the adjacent segment (see attachment). With Illustrator's Unite function in the Pathfinder palette, I am able to divide a single shape where the paths intersect and delete the unwanted areas outside my desired final shape, while the unwanted overlaps inside the shape are automatically removed by the same function. I've tried a workaround in Designer by placing another small shape inside my desired shape, which is then absorbed completely by the 'Add' operation, but the intersections of my original shape are unaffected. I'm sure this sounds confusing, but I'm not sure how to explain it in a better way. Hopefully the attachments will make it easier to follow. The attachments are from Illustrator's workspace to explain the desired functionality.

Is there another way I can do this with Designer?

Thanks,

Jeff

post-1522-0-70613500-1412831773_thumb.png

post-1522-0-60039000-1412831785_thumb.png

Hi Jeff,

I can definitely add this functionality - I think the Unite function is serving this specific purpose because I can't imagine how else you'd achieve it with the boolean ops we currently have.

Leave it with me! :)

Matt