You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Hi, I'm quite new to digital photography and am trying to understand profiles.

I've read coranda's post

https://forum.affinity.serif.com/index.php?/topic/11293-ap-printing-with-icc-printer-profiles/?p=48255

and generally can follow that. However it still doesn't solve my problem.

My aim is that I'm trying to create a jpg with a profile built in which I have downloaded from a printing company. It's not an icc file but has the extension icm

Following the company's instructions, I downloaded the icm profile and copied it to Macintosh HD/Library/color sync/profiles where it now sits with various others like Black & White.icc, etc.

Following coranda's print instructions...

"In the print dialogue, at the bottom, there should be a button that says "Show Details".  Click that.  There you will see a drop down list that probably has "Affinity Photo" selected.  Click on that list and choose "Colour Matching" and make sure that "ColorSync" is enabled."

This did produce a drop-down list and the Fuji icm was there. So I guess if I had that printer sitting here beside me it would work. However I want to generate a file that I can email to the printer for them to print, so it's not quite the solution.

Following the soft proof instructions, I added a soft proof adjustment layer, but the Fuji profile was not listed - it has many profiles of papers and devices listed, but not the Fuji one or any of those in the path mentioned above. If it did I guess I could export the image as normal with the profile built in.

If I do a file/export to generate the jpg, I had expected to find some way to pick up the profile as in the case of printing. However I don't see any way to do that.

Can anyone please explain how to get this profiled file?

Thanks

Stuart

Please forgive my butting in here, but is this maybe more of an OS system level thing than an Affinity one?