You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

How to remove Moire?

Hi,

I'm a wedding photographer and I'm struggling with removing Moire from suits of the groom. A lot of suits will generate moire in my pictures on different places in the photo.

I was hoping that Affinity Photo v2 had some slider to remove irregular Moire patterns from the suits. I've tested two other products and with a slider it is easy to remove Moire: Feature Request! I'm a bit disappointed it is not in V2, as more and more camera's lack the AA filter.

As I'm familiard with Affinity Photo this is my only thing to use another product, but I can't do this editing in different products as this affects my workflow too much.

Is there an easy way to remove this kind of Moire? Any help will be appreciated.
I've tested blurring but I think this is nog a constructive way of removing these moire patterns.

Thanks

Roland

• 2 weeks later...

Don't think the FFT Denoise will work on suit moire, either the stripe wave pattern nor the rainbow effect. The rainbow effect can sometimes be corrected using a colour matched pixel layer set to colour but the wavy moire is harder to fix.

iMac 27" 2019 Somona 14.3.1, iMac 27" Affinity Designer, Photo & Publisher V1 & V2, Adobe, Inkscape, Vectorstyler, Blender, C4D, Sketchup + more... XP-Pen Artist-22E, - iPad Pro 12.9  
B| (Please refrain from licking the screen while using this forum)

Affinity Help - Affinity Desktop Tutorials - Feedback - FAQ - most asked questions

24 minutes ago, LeeThorpe said:

Hi FrodoNL,

There's no specific Moire tool, we have an FFT denoise tool and you can use this alongside blurring and adding noise/cloning.

Lee

Tnx. But indeed FFT Denoise does not remove moire from a suit.

Using cloning etc is very time consuming and I can't get good results.