You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

How can I hand draw accurately - just like in Sketchbook Pro?

I'm not a graphics artist or designer, I'm an engineer. I currently use Sketchbook Pro and my Cintiq graphics tablet as a replacement for my engineering notebook to do handwritten notes and sketch circuits, graphs and formulae. Sketchbook Pro does a fantastic job of replicating the pen/pencil and paper experience. However, it completely blows at editing - you can't select something and change it's color, flip it in X or Y, open two documents at the same time and copy/paste between them etc. 

I was hoping I could get all that out of AD. However, in my first 30 seconds of usage I decided the lag with using my graphics tablet was *completely* unacceptable. Also, if I used the tablet to sketch handwriting or circuits etc using the paint brush (with a very small size) then when I lifted the pen after writing something the software turned the whole thing into a vector and smoothed it to the point you couldn't read a thing. Likewise circuit diagrams I drew also got mangled. 

Is there any way to control the over-smoothing that's going on? Is there any way to just draw as a bitmap so when I use the eraser I'm not slicing vector lines into lots of little pieces?

Thanks!

Mick,

Having done a lot of technical drawings in the past I would start by maybe setting up a document with your desired resolution (say millimeters, etc) and turn on the “Grid” from the  “View” menu and turn on snap to grid under the magnet icon. Once you have a document setup for what you need then I would use only vector drawing and create some electric component IC shapes, some resistors, diodes, pots, etc. or whatever you might need in the future and save it as say, “Circuit  Components”, etc. This will quickly become your template file.