You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Failed to open file, The file could not be parsed

I am shooting HEIC x.fine (~7mb) from Sony A7iv.  When I try a new HDR merge, I load three bracketed images.  When I hit OK to start the merge, I get the error in the subject.  

Failed to open file, The file could not be parsed.

When I use HEIF from my iPhone 12 Pro Max (~2.5mb), they work ok, no error.

If I just try and import one HIEC photo from my Sony, I also get an error.  But I can import the HEIC shot from my phone, no issue.  

I am brand new to Affinity Photo and purchased it for the HDR merge.  Maybe I am missing something about what file format or size limits there are?  Can you help?

00BCEC1E-90AA-4B1A-B341-F809D48980B4.jpeg

Edited by David W Barton

• Staff

Hi David W Barton,
Welcome to the forums :)

Please could you tell me if the file can be viewed in an app like Photos etc? If possible could you provide a copy of the HEIC file so I can look into this further with you? If you would rather not post it publicly let me know and I will provide a secure link to our DropBox.

Thanks
C

Please tag me using @ in your reply so I can be sure to respond ASAP.

Yes, it opens fine in other apps.  Photos for example.  I have been doing basic edits of brightness, shadows, etc using the built in iPad photos app.  It also opens them for people edits in PS Express.  Sometimes when I open them for edit in PS Express I get an error too.  I have  attached a bracketed series that I was trying to use to test HDR with affinity.

21A874DA-6057-4BF6-A72A-F5034F6D4DE5.jpeg

2E441EB9-FF1E-4CCC-89D3-878E3199262E.jpeg

73883C99-4B0A-42A0-81FB-4C0C2FED0689.jpeg

Edited by David W Barton

On 5/30/2022 at 8:36 AM, David W Barton said: