You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Affinity Publisher 1.10.4 MacBookPro 16 M1Pro osx Monterey 12.0.1 vs MacBookPro Retina late 2013 osx Mojave 10.14.6

Hi, I'm testing the new MacBookPro 16 inches M1Pro 16/16/1Tb for 2 weeks now. It's a gorgeous machine but I'm an aware graphic designer with steady full experience in Apple environment and this is the first time, since my MacBookPro Retina late 2013, that I want to try a new Apple computer made for a professional.

In my tests, the MacBookPro 16 inches M1Pro 16/16/1Tb is running osx Monterey 12.0.1 and MacBookPro Retina late 2013 is running osx Mojave 10.14.6.

Despite the fact that the internal SSD drive is like 10 times the speed of the SSD of the old MacBookPro Retina late 2013, I have some very disturbing real time benchmarks and real impressions of slugginess with the brand new 16-inch M1Pro 16/16/1Tb:

A 41Mb Affinity Publisher 1.10.4 file:
    - takes 16.4 seconds to open from the SSD on the MacBookPro 16 inches M1Pro 16/16/1Tb
    - takes 11.5 seconds to open from the AFP mounted 1 Gigabits network volume on the same MacBookPro 16 inches M1Pro 16/16/1Tb
    - takes 3 seconds!! to open the file from the AFP mounted network volume on the old MacBookPro Retina late 2013

What a nice surprise!

Seriously, anybody is having same issues?

It seems to be the same with Affinity Photo, Adobe Photoshop CC 2021… but my Affinity Publisher test is the most relevant so far.

Best,

N

I have a much larger Publisher file than you and it will open in less than one second on a MacBook Pro 14 with M1 Pro, 16GB, and Monterey - Publisher screams on this new hardware for me. I can't imagine why it's taking 16 seconds to load from the SSD for you.