Jump to content
sepwilson

Original file is not written to when saved, only when closed

Recommended Posts

It appears that Affinity Designer does not always write changes back to the original file. These changes are then flushed when the document is closed.

 

This behavior can easily be observed in Finder by noting the file modification date and/or size, which do not change when the file is saved in Affinity Designer. However, the file modification date and size are updated once the document is closed.

 

It appears that changes are being written to a temporary document in another location while the document is closed and then "committed" to the original file only when the document is closed. This behavior may be dependent on file size, at was only exhibited for larger files -- my smaller files appear to be written back to their original location immediately.

 

This behavior is problematic, as it breaks our workflow in serious ways. For example, without closing the document:

 

i) Other computers and users that share the same DropBox account don't see changes, even though they were explicitly saved in Affinity Designer.

 

ii) Modifications may not be backed up to Time Machine as long as the file remains open in Affinity Designer.

 

iii) Changes will not be flushed/committed back to the original file in the event that the app crashes.

 

iv) It makes working with a version control system such as a Git or Subversion problematic, as the VCS will not "see" the changes until the file is closed. This interrupts our workflow where we expect to be able to commit changes to the repository without having to always close the document to ensure that the changes are written back to the original location.

 

I have no idea whether this behavior is a bug or by design, but it needs to change. Buffering changes to a temporary location is OK to ensure that data is not lost by a crash, but changes should *always* be written back to the original file location whenever the user explicitly saves the file.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi sepwilson,

Have you tried to refresh the Finder window?

Affinity should always save to the file when you explicitly do so trough a File ▸ Save.

As you noted it saves part of the changes to an external location for performance and auto-save (backup) purposes in case of a crash.

By design, you shouldn't be able to open the file in two or more computers simultaneously.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Have you tried to refresh the Finder window?

 

Finder windows always stay up to date using file system notifications. There is no refresh command in Finder. If a file's modification date is not changed following a write then it's either because the app didn't write to that location (or it intentionally prevented the file modification date from being updated, but I find this very unlikely).

 

By design, you shouldn't be able to open the file in two or more computers simultaneously.

 

We are always careful not to do so in relation to DropBox. Files are not shared between computers when using VCS such as Git, Subversion (we always have our working copies stored locally).

 

Cheers,

Simon

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Please note the Annual Company Closure section in the Terms of Use. These are the Terms of Use you will be asked to agree to if you join the forum. | Privacy Policy | Guidelines | We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.