You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Apple ProRAW images open dark/underexposed in Affinity Photo

Hey all, I am fairly new to Affinity Photo and editing RAW images. When I open an Apple ProRAW image, captured from an iPhone 13 Pro, in Affinity Photo, the image opens super dark/underexposed in the Develop persona. I have to push the Exposure slider up pretty far (3+) to get the image to a reasonable exposure. After that the image looks fine and I can continue to edit. I knot it's not suppose to look as good as the jpeg preview, but is the image opening really dark normal?

This happens if I use the 'Edit in Affinity Photo" extension or if I Export Unmodified Original and open the .dng file with Affinity Photo.

I'm using Affinity Photo on a 14" MacBook Pro (M1 Pro). I also tried on an Intel iMac and got same behavior. When I tried from an iPad, the image was actually the opposite and super overexposed.

Maybe it's all normal and not a big, but wanted to check, just in case I'm doing something wrong.

I attached a screenshot of what it looks like in Photos vs Affinity Photo.

Apple Photos ProRAW image.png

Affinity Photo ProRAW image - Develop Persona.png

• 6 months later...

Though, Apple RAW Engine is not always and everywere an option ...

This is, how it should look like:

image.png.2f5610b023a30958a16a96dae516b69f.png

Regarding to the Serif Labs RAW engine, this is, what the Develop Persona shows:

image.thumb.png.45c01bdf428b09a9c26ba0aabd3e80fd.png

It looks rather ok, if you copy the "Brightness Value" from the EXIF-Record to the 32bit-Preview Exposure. BTW why is this according to the Info a "RGBA/32 (HDR), whereas the Develop Assistant was set to use "RGB 16 bit" as the RAW output format?

Compare digiKam:

image.thumb.png.2e4fadaa08085cdf0c09a8ed9b8bc8fe.png

Looks like Affinity with the "Brightness Value" applied, but the Tone Curve set to "Take no Action".