You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

I'm a veteran Illustrator user who recently purchased AD.  I am now comparing "Stroke" features between the two apps.  Here are my questions:

1) Sketch a rectangle and give it an opaque color, then sketch a second rectangle above it and give your second rectangle X% Opacity.  Now tick / Enable "Stroke" in the Effects.  Slowly move the Radius to the right and you will then suddenly see your X% Opacity become complete Opaque.  Why?

2) In Illustrator I can put a Stroke on a rectangle and then make that stroke to be Centered or Inside or Outside.  But AD is very different.  When I sketch a rectangle in AD and then when I add a "Line" to it, I am presented with a large number of options, but the ability to move that Line to the Outside or Inside is mysteriously absent.  So I was thinking to myself, well, maybe the developers of AD want me to use the "Stroke" Effect instead.  And truly, when I apply a Stroke, I have the 3 options available (Center, Inside, Outside).  But the disadvantage to using Stroke is that the corners are always curved.  Why is that?

3) Stroke does not seem to be a replacement for Line.  Try this.  Sketch a rectangle but set Fill and Line to NONE.  Now tick/Enable Stroke and expand the Radius.  Nothing appears on screen at all!  But as soon as I give it a fill color, then the Stroke magically appears.  It seems a bit strange.  If Line would give me the option to have Center or Inside or Outside, this wouldn't matter as I could then use Line instead.

4) Illustrator empowers me to add multiple strokes to the same object, and when I set those strokes behind the fill, I can then do some pretty interesting things. I cannot seem to find a way to do this in AD.

5) It seems that AD only allows me to add a gradient to a Stroke but not to a Line.  This is unfortunate because I cannot seem to create a Stroke WITHOUT rounded corners.