You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Designer: Is there an easy way to eliminate any and all overlaps in a layer stack?

Hi,

I want to send off a file to have a "UV" printing service print a design on a small box. The service provider wants a vector file with a specific layer structure, which seems easy enough to conform too, but they also insist that none of the vector shapes overlap each other and advise that I should subtract all the portions of shapes that are overlapped by more prominently placed layers.

I am surprised to think that the print machine does not have RIP software to deal with this, but I have very little experience with commercial print technology.

I am writing to ask if there is some efficient way to subtract layers into a sort of what you see is what is there conformation?

I tried working by hand while digging through the file and identifying pairs of layers to process with the subtract tool. This process presents all sorts of puzzles to solve and it is mind numbing.

Am I missing an opportunity to do this more efficiently than a layer by layer process?

Thank you!

I have been trying to work with the Divide process but it just seems to create different considerations for the puzzle, and there is still an enormous amount of hand work.

I have been reading a bit about UV printing and I get the impression that the color separations made for these machines and the colorants is much more "hands on" rather than algorithmically processed in a one step RIP automation.

As an experiment I drew a very simple design in Affinity Designer.

Wave_01A2.jpg.ee484fa8c695fc1882909247036cb9d0.jpg

The file had 8 layers with shapes that were overlapped. The overlapping was the result of my focus on the display appearance of the illustration rather than the construction of the file.