Jump to content
AshTeriyaki

Save incremental/ save version

Recommended Posts

I'd love a save incremental / save version button, when clicked it'd just save a new version of the file in place with _0001 etc appended to the filename. Super easy, lovely little feature.

 

Bruce bonus time - add a user definable suffix option to preferences so users can choose version themes or timestamps etc.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What about making it part of the Autosave functionality, like a secondary checkbox in the prefs labeled something like, Incremental Autosave, which adds a user defined suffix and a user defined time amount before save?

 

Arg.. we'd still have to show a "Save As" dialog - pre-populated with "Something_0002.afphoto" etc.. (damned sandbox!).

 

Not sure if it would be much use like that :S

 

Andy.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

But... What about something like a proto-symple-stupid version control implementation?

Something like a sidecar History file push to a GIT/SVN repo that can be pulled down...

 

Just saying... 

 

Ok... Need to eat something... I'm going crazy.  :ph34r:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I’d like to see a version control with a good granularity in future.

I tried to track a 100MB .afdesign for an user interface in a git repository and an after some commits and two branches the result was this:

post-6268-0-68136700-1458203244_thumb.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Forgive me my ignorance but how would it be different/better from OS X built in file versioning?

The OS X built in versioning (used for example by Pixelmator) has a granularity of documents, so you can restore a full document version an replace the actual.

Imagine the possibilities of a granularity of artboards, styles, objects, layers, etc.: you should commit an revert only some parts of a document an keep the rest of the document unchanged.

A quite simple implementation of this method for visual design can be found in Justinmind. I mean quite simple because it use a "locks" that could confuse somebody not used to versioning systems.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you decide to use OSX's built in versioning, PLEASE allow us to delete versions. Apple stopped doing that so the file that holds versions just keeps getting bigger and bigger. The only way I have found around it is to rename the file in the Finder that I am going to modify, open it, duplicate the open document (cmd-shift-s) and then work on the duplicate and save that.

 

The other suggestion would be to allow us to specify how many versions back we want to keep and the software would automatically delete older versions beyond that point.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Coming back to this, git LFS is around nowadays, a git based solution would be epic! No branches, just simple committing. That'd be aces. Just thinking out loud though

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The OS X built in versioning (used for example by Pixelmator) has a granularity of documents, so you can restore a full document version an replace the actual.

Imagine the possibilities of a granularity of artboards, styles, objects, layers, etc.: you should commit an revert only some parts of a document an keep the rest of the document unchanged.

A quite simple implementation of this method for visual design can be found in Justinmind. I mean quite simple because it use a "locks" that could confuse somebody not used to versioning systems.

 

There are so many reasons why we won't be doing sub-document version granularity.

 

We have structured our files to try to minimise binary differences between saves.  Our saves only apply atomic changes to the end of the file, and a saved and compacted file should be storing the sub-elements of the document in consistent order, so that binary differences are limited to simple insert/remove/replace rather than reordered blocks of binary data that will result in large diffs being generated.  This should help with the size of trickle updates for iCloud and DropBox... in theory.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And also, a purge. When the design is finished, to delete all previous version and leave only the latest one?

 

You can just use Save-As for that purpose.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, but Save-As does not delete previous versions. VAX/VMS systems had this options. Files were automatically named like (*.txt;1 *.txt;2... *.txt;3) whenever you pres Ctrl-S and when you activated Purge, all previous versions were deleted and the newest version was renamed to (*.txt).

 

* = file name

 

P.S. But. this tool should be part of the OS.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You should implement the macOS's built in versioning. First this feature is ready to use (I am wrong?) and second this bring consistency within the platform.

 

Today I lost my work because 1/ I am used to work with built-in feature on many apps and 2/ I thought AD have this feature implemented as many others.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The MacOS versioning you are referring to is based on the ObjectiveC libraries, a lot of which is "hidden" from the developer. It is also not a cross platform solution. We have written a fully cross platform format, that is optimised for cloud updates for multiple systems (not just iCloud).

 

We do allow for iCloud support, and if you save your files to an iCloud folder they will be synchronised.

 

We do not, however, employ the mechanism used by apps like Pages that do live continuous saving of the file - this mechanism is fine for small scale files, but would have had significant problems for our document model.  We use the standard method of saving that requires you to perform the save.  For this reason, we also have a background backup facility which should offer some level of protection against file losses.

 

Also, the feature you refer you is only used by apps that are exclusively on the App store.  Adobe, for example, won't be offering this feature either.

 

And, why did you lose your work?  Affinity would have told you that you needed to save your work before you close the document or the application.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Please note the Annual Company Closure section in the Terms of Use. These are the Terms of Use you will be asked to agree to if you join the forum. | Privacy Policy | Guidelines | We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.