jshah1998

How to remove white background using Affinity Designer

Hello-

I am new to graphics design and to Affinity Designer. I have a simple requirement. I need to remove the white background from the attached PNG file and make it transparent. I think this should be simple with a powerful tool like AD. But I've looked high and low and can't find a solution.

Appreciate the help!

JS 

post-18719-0-59780300-1443155429_thumb.png

Hi JS,

You're dealing with a pixel operation, so select your object then go to the Pixel Persona (second button from the left at the top) and choose the Selection Brush Tool (press 'w' on your keyboard) and then just paint somewhere on the white area - it should automatically select all the white for you. Once you're done you can hit the delete key to remove it. If the selection wasn't quite as good as you'd hoped, before accepting the selection just choose 'Refine' on the context toolbar and brush over the areas you're not happy with and it will analyse them more closely.

Thanks,

Matt

With such a simple image, you might end up better off if you recreate it in Designer. That will let you handle the transparency layers of those blue ribbon things and have much cleaner edges to the image than the bitmap will allow.

Not working here! Want the white to be gone just the black lines to be left Background transparent.

post-12456-0-97067300-1443807379_thumb.jpg

Mac MacBook Pro 15 in.  OS X 10.9.5, Mid 2012 456.77 GB Affinity Design and Photo.

Hi uncle808us,

I have used your screenshot (cropped) as an example here, so the lines appear a little faint. You can improve them with an adjustment layer if needed but i believe your original file is bigger so this shouldn't be a problem. I've just defined a blend range (select the layer and click on the cog icon in the Layers panel to see it) to get rid of the white.

See attachment.

remove_white.afdesign

Hi JS,