I am new to Affinty's software. I'm trying to move to them from Adobe's far more expensive products. Overall, I love the apps. Very usable and modern. However, I have had repeated problems with spot colors. For the life of me I can't figure out how to add spot colors to my swatches palettes as spot colors and then apply them to objects. Whenever I look up a Pantone color and add it to the swatches palette it gets added as CMYK. I have tried following advice in threads on here and on Affinity's help system to add spot colors, but then I end up on a screen where I can't search for the exact Pantone color I need. 

The whole thing baffles me. If I'm looking up a Pantone color and then adding that as a swatch it should always be added as a spot color by default. That's just basic user expectation. I get that there should be a function to convert that spot color to CMYK, RGB, etc, but if I'm picking a spot color, why isn't it coming through as a spot color?

Is there anywhere I can look online with simple instructions on how to do the following in Affinity Designer: select a specific spot color (let's say Pantone 288 C), and create a swatch of it solely as a spot color?

Thank you all in advance for help!

Yes it's super over complicated - If only we had global and spot colours as the default option, and maybe have a tick box option to enable the horrible way? - anyway you need to create a document palette for globals or spots :

Screen Grab 2021-02-03 at 17.46.22.png

Screen Grab 2021-02-03 at 17.47.05.png

Daz1.png

Mac Pro Cheese-grater (Early 2009) 2.93 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon 48 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 ECC Ram NVIDIA GeForce GT 630 - 2 GBUgee 19" Graphics Tablet Monitor Mac OS Mojave 10.14.6

Affinity Designer, Photo and Publisher 1.9.2 + Illustrator CS5 / VectorStyler mainly for Vector distortion workarounds + InDesign CS5 for multipage spread jobs with Slug + ImageVectoizer / Vectorize for raster to vector conversions

www.bingercreative.co.uk

This is the way I do this.