You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Affinity Photo shuts down unexpectedly

PPCW

I own the version 1.8.5.703 of Affinity Photo (Windows 10, version 20H2). When I am working on a file, whatever it is (ARW from Sony, NEF from Nikon, TIFF, …) or when I am resizing the app window, Affinity Photo shuts down unexpectedly.

What could do to fix this issue?

Thank you,

Philippe

• Staff

Hey PPCW, welcome to the Affinity Forums.

Can you check for crash reports here please:

C:\Users\your username\AppData\Roaming\Affinity\Photo\1.0\CrashReports\reports

It sounds like it might not be image-secific if you are using a number of formats so there might be little point in asking for a file...

Hi!

I'm evaluating Affinity Photo for an article on my blog, as well as for puchase (I'm a photographer), and I find that I have the same issues. Unexpected shutdown at strange moments. I've taken your advice and shared all the crash reports from the location mentioned above. Here is a wetransfer link: https://we.tl/t-fReFPzsadx

There are 10 of them and I've only been using the app for a few hours. It has happened irrespective of file format, but most often when trying to load a PSD, CR2 file, or layered TIFF, but not always while loading the file.

I look forward to a fix.

Just to be clearer, I thought it was because I was using the (latest) Nvidia Studio Drivers, so I installed the Game Ready drivers instead. No change.

I use a GTX 1060 6GB. Currently using driver 461.40

It doesn't seem to be too little system RAM, because about 6 GB was free at the time of the last crash (out of a total of 16GB).

15 minutes ago, Chris B said:

Hello Susheel.c, welcome to the Affinity Forums.

You are seeing the nvwgf2umx.dll crash which is an Nvidia crash. We pinned it back to Capture One. Can you confirm if you have Capture One installed or installed at some point?