You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Printing on colour-separated prostscript

Hi everyone.

I'm new to Affinity, I'm a sreen-printer and typography consultant, so I'm testing it for a possible switch from Adobe.

But, I think Designes missed a very important feature of Illustrator, a dead-line to choose the switch.

Illustrator can print on a Postscript file using the color separation feature, if I have a CMYK file, I can save a PS and give it to a RIP software or a "distiller" to crate a multipage PDF (C, M, Y, K in separated pages).

I didn't found that in Designer...

I attach a picture of Illustrator print window...

Thanks!

Schermata 2020-11-13 alle 10.14.51.jpg

2 hours ago, BofG said:

I don't believe there is any way to directly do what you are asking in Designer. There's no native support to create a PostScript file, and there's no way to manage separations. The best you can do is generate a PDF in CMYK and let the people handling the print create the separations from that.

EDIT - I had a check, and there is maybe a way to do this, however you will need a suitable PostScript printer driver. If you go to the print dialouge, select the PostScript printer and then in the driver settings enable separations output, then back in the print dialouge click "print to file" you will get a .PS file that has the command in it to print as separations.

I believe that Serif staff have confirmed that the Affinity products assume that any printer wants RGB data, so if you have a CMYK file and Print it from Affinity it will be converted to RGB data before sending to the printer driver, and the printer driver will then have to reconvert it to CMYK (or whatever inkset the printer actually uses).

If so, that may affect your suggested workaround.

-- Walt
Designer, Photo, and Publisher V1 and V2 at latest retail and beta releases
PC: