You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Compressing images - Squash app

I don't know if this is allowed or it will be reviewed as spam but I found something very excited to be honest and I think it could benefit a lot of us here.

As a web developer I'm a huge sucker for speed and my goal is always to create websites with page-loads below a single second when possible of course. Minifying http requests, web-fonts, JavaScript, CSS and of course compressing images is always top priority for me.

Good, a few days ago while browsing through the Mac App Store I saw an app called Squash.app. I took a glance at it and thought, damn that's a pretty app icon, I bet you that icon would look mega sexy at my Dock.  :wub:

Again, this wouldn't be the first time you'd buy an app because it has a pretty icon and the app itself is a complete horror.. I read the app description and my first opinion was, well for compressing images ? do you really need an 7.99 app for that? I still was stil using the Free ImageOptim.app for a few years now and it's doing the job, right.

7eXOYUd.png

Today, out of the blue, I noticed the app was discounted I guess because right now it's available for only 2.99 - that pulled me over the edge to take a risk and I bought it anyway.

After a few tests - I don't know.. I'm kinda surprised to see the difference in results when you compress .jpg files. I had a huge panorama mountain picture in some folder I knew that I ( myself ) had never touched before and I made 3 copies and run it through each compressing apps to see the difference in results and I was kinda shocked.

Default image - 12.8mb

ImageOptim - 11.6mn

Squash - 2.5mb