You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Text Snapping within a Text Frame

All

I'm not really sure how to describe the issue I'm having. It seems that whenever I insert a text frame or a table, the text within each frame moves independent of the frame itself. For example, if I create a frame and insert filler text, the text may be positioned in the upper-left. However, I can move the frame, and the text within will stay static until it reaches a "cliff" at which point it will snap back to the upper-left of the frame (see attached screen shots). It happens whether I have snapping on or off. 

Additionally, text alignments will adjust accordingly. For example, if I have the alignment set to center vertically, the degree to which the text is actually in the middle of the frame depends on where the frame is relative to the "cliff" that snaps it back to true center.

I hope this all makes sense. I'm completely new to creative suites like this, so I'm hoping there's a relatively simple answer to my problem. 

Thanks!

Stephan

Capture.JPG

Capture1.JPG

Welcome to the Serif Affinity forums, @Nairtcab.

To me it looks like your text did move horizontally, but not vertically, when you moved the frame. My guess: You have a baseline grid enabled, which would restrict the text's vertical placement to align with that grid.

Check:

1. The Text Frame studio panel; and
  2. View > Show Baseline Grid and View > Show Baseline Grid Manager.

-- Walt
Designer, Photo, and Publisher V1 and V2 at latest retail and beta releases
PC:
    Desktop:  Windows 11 Pro, version 23H2, 64GB memory, AMD Ryzen 9 5900 12-Core @ 3.00 GHz, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 

Laptop:  Windows 11 Pro, version 23H2, 32GB memory, Intel Core i7-10750H @ 2.60GHz, Intel UHD Graphics Comet Lake GT2 and NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3070 Laptop GPU.
iPad:  iPad Pro M1, 12.9": iPadOS 17.4.1, Apple Pencil 2, Magic Keyboard 
Mac:  2023 M2 MacBook Air 15", 16GB memory, macOS Sonoma 14.4.1