You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Color matching, printing on a non pro photo printer

Hello,

I am an amateur with the following configuration: MacOS 10.14.6 Mojave, Affinity 1.8.4, Canon PIXMA TS6150.

I shoot both digital and film, and the problem I describe here is the same in both case (scanned negative with VueScan or digital RAW files from my Fuji X-series camera)

I do not intend to invest in a 1000 € printer, and my choice of the Pixma TS6150 is because of a good reputation in producing almost professional grade photo prints up to A4. And I have to say that when a print is good... it is good.

The problem is that I don't manage to get a correct workflow for printing, and I am lost when I try to understand the discussions on these issues that I can find here or elsewhere. I know there is no ICC profile for my printer ;-(.

One typical example is that the print are clearly blueish compared to the results that I get both on my MacBook screen (properly calibrated according to Apple) and my ViewSonic screen (properly calibrated according to ViewSonic). The results on both screens are consistants, but the output on the printer is ... a disaster !

Attached files gives a good idea of the problem, best illustrated in B&W: the "capture d'écran" is a good idea of what I get in AP, the B&WPrint is a scan giving a good idea of the printed output...

Can anyone drive me through any kind of solution (outside of buying a pro-printer that I cannot afford)

Thanks in advance

Capture d’écran 2020-10-04 à 12.38.28.png

B&WPrint.jpeg

• Staff

Hi @Foucart,