You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Suggested translation workflow?

I am a translator and want to switch from Indesign to AP - more important, I want to offer my customers an alternative. The only translation-related thread I found assumed a very special workflow without the use of CAT software.

In most cases, our current workflow is:

1. Export INDD to IDML
  2. Import IDML into CAT software (in my case, Wordfast Pro)
  3. Translate
  4. Create translated IDML
  5. Return IDML to customer & import

This is by no means a smooth process, mainly due to IDML idiosyncrasies, but it works, sort of and with lots of grumbling involved on both sides, but we mainly use it for lack of anything better. Trying to say that this would be a domain where it would not be too hard to do better than the competition.

Now my question is: What workflow do you propose if a customer would switch from Indesign to AP? The technical snag is that most CAT tools cannot read proprietary binary files, they need some sort of (Unicode) text file, usually some "…ML" format, and I do not see that changing anytime soon. In fact, I think it is the best solution, see below.

As of 1.8.4 AP does not even have a text export format, it seems, let alone any exchange format that preserves formatting and layout and which could be re-imported into AP after the translation. The real problem, of course, is not the main "story" but the numerous text snippets flying around in "loose" text frames and artistic text. But even the main story becomes a problem if I have lots of inline symbols etc.